on the beach you’ll find them there

Just when I thought I couldn’t possibly take any more vacations this year, I hopped a plane to Myrtle Beach with my girlfriends! One of our friends lives in Greenville, SC and drove down to meet the rest of us who flew from Chicago. There were six of us total. We’ve all been friends for at least 15 years. A couple of the girls I have known since the 1st grade.

We rented a big condo right on the beach. Once we got there and stocked the fridge, we really didn’t need any plans or entertainment. We just wanted to spend some relaxation time together and catch up. There’s nothing like a little girl time.

The first night we settled in and went out to a Japanese restaurant for dinner. The next morning, it was time to hit the beach!

Here was our condo, right on the beach!

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

You can’t relax on vacation without wine, right? I brought some with me including this Pinot labeled with same name as our hometown! Go Byron!

Myrtle Beach

The next evening I decided we had to do a “photoshoot” on the beach. I said “Girls, let’s do a photoshoot on the beach!” I called it a photoshoot to be funny – I really just wanted to get a few fun pictures of all of us girls on the beach.

By the time we got out there, it was dark, so all I could capture with my flash was some sand at our feet. I balanced my tripod on some stairs and set the timer. The girls were good sports about hanging out in the slight chill of the evening while I got some good shots.

But I had no idea the direction this photoshoot would take after we got to laughing and acting silly. The “photoshoot” is now infamous – known only as “The Photoshoot.”

Here are a few of the winners. And a few of the outtakes.

Lovely Group Shot: Starting the “photoshoot” out normal

Myrtle Beach

Outtake: OMG Look there’s a crab! And I almost stepped on it!

Myrtle Beach

Best Jumpity Shot: Hey at least we all made it off the ground at the same time.

Myrtle Beach

Outtake: Slow reaction. Except for Stefanie – great timing!

Myrtle Beach

Serious Faces: Need a little practice on this one

Myrtle Beach

Sentimental Shot: Love this picture almost as much as I love the girls in it

Myrtle Beach

Outtake: We were suppose to strike a sexy pose? I don’t think we quite got it. And Tiffany – you DID make it in the picture! HA!

Myrtle Beach

Outtake: Not sure what we were doing here, as shown by my face

Myrtle Beach

Pyramid: We did it! Despite my major laugh attack

Myrtle Beach

Lovely Group Shot: Another winner!

Myrtle Beach

Action Shot Take 1: Stef, you’re running the wrong way!

Myrtle Beach

Action Shot Take 2: Yoga poses! Well, some of them. Tiffany’s showing off her well-formed downward facing dog. And I’m showing off my…um…yeah.

Myrtle Beach

Outtake: Again, I have no idea what’s going on here

Myrtle Beach

Outtake: We are practicing our deep thinking

Myrtle Beach

Chorus Line: Nice extension ladies!

Myrtle Beach

Finale!

Myrtle Beach

After all that madness, we still needed to eat dinner! So we headed to Broadway on the Beach and grabbed some grub at Joe’s Crab Shack! Let’s get crackin’!

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

After dinner, we walked around outside and found a photobooth. Clearly it was meant for less than 6 people, but we crammed into it anyway.

Myrtle Beach

As we walked by Señor Frogs, the music blasting outside beckoned us in. I’m kidding. It was obnoxious, but it sounded like a party, so we went in for ONE dance.

But wait, a punching game! Sara totally dominated.

Myrtle Beach

Ok, a drink and a few songs later, we were still hanging with the frogs.

Myrtle Beach

And by frogs, I mean the weirdo DJ’s that suckered Sara and Michelle into a cha-cha. The rest of us ran for safety.

Myrtle Beach

But they lived to tell about it! And they’re still having a good time!

Myrtle Beach

What a night. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard in my life.

Myrtle Beach

The next morning, we planted ourselves out by the pool and enjoyed a little more time with Tiffany before she had to drive back to Greenville. Then we took a nice, relaxing walk along the beach.

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Late afternoon silliness in the sun…

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Two friends walking on the beach…

Myrtle Beach

Two (different) friends walking on the beach…

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Hi Tiffany! We missed her already, so we left her a greeting in the sand.

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

Our last night in Myrtle Beach was pretty low-key. We soaked in every last bit of the sun and our time with each other before we had to head back to the real world.

Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach

I’m so glad we were able to take this trip and we vowed to do it again in a few years!

See all my pictures from the trip on Flickr.

*Blog post title is a lyric from the song “Girls on the Beach” by the Beach Boys

2 Responses to on the beach you’ll find them there

  1. Lisa says:

    Looks like an amazing trip with your girlfriends. Love those pictures!

  2. Stefanie says:

    Love the pics Leigh Ann! Can’t wait for the next trip. So much fun!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

