you can stand under my umbrella

Just a short week after uprooting my life in Chicago and moving to Austin, I had to hop a plane to New York for Lisa’s bachelorette party. This party has been planned for a long time and it is sort of amazing to me how much my life has changed in between the last time I was there (March) and now. In just one month. What a whirlwind.

I’ve been to New York many times in the last 8+ years since my sister has lived there, but this was my shortest trip. Arrived Friday afternoon, left Sunday morning.

On Saturday, the weather was crummy. Totally not reflective of a fun party day, but we’d rather get rain now than on the wedding day! We started the day with her bestie Katie at a spa where we got pedicures and facials. Then Katie graciously hosted a few of us at her apartment for some wine tasting and hors d’oeuvres.

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Katie’s apartment, on 42nd street, has a fantastic view of Manhattan – even on a cloudy, rainy day.

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Lisa’s ready to party!

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Lisa and her friends Allison, Jess, and Katie.

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Then we headed to Koreatown for karaoke! A bunch more joined us in our private room and Lisa kicked off the night with Madonna’s “Like a Virgin”. Belt it out Lisa!

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Good thing the receiver was labeled.

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

There was some Lady Gaga…

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

A rockin’ Bohemian Rhapsody…

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Umbrella…ella…ella… Very appropriate for the night’s weather.

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Of course, Girls Just Wanna Have Fun…

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

And a very “touching” solo from the Bride…

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Most songs ended up as a group singing effort.

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

Then Lisa and Katie took a trip down memory lane and performed a rousing duet to Barbra Streisand and Celine Dion’s duet “Tell Him.”

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

I don’t know who was Barbra and who was Celine. But it was entertaining.

Karoake

Then the sisters did a Sonny and Cher number. I got you babe.

Lisa's Bachelorette Party

The night ended with a few of us jumping over to a bar in Manhattan – I have no idea where or what it was called, but it was cool. Then we dashed for a cab in the POURING rain and before I knew it, I was on a plane back to Texas! Now I’m gearing up for the BIG DANCE – the wedding is on May 14!!!

See the rest of my pictures from the bachelorette party on Flickr.

*Blog post title is a lyric from the song “The Way You Make Me Feel” by Michael Jackson

One Response to you can stand under my umbrella

  1. Lisa says:

    That was seriously the best. night. ever. Thanks for posting all the great pics! I had such a laugh looking through them all!

Leave a Reply

