going to the chapel and we’re gonna get married

On the way to New York for the 4th time since August, it occurred to me that my entire immediate family was going to be in the same city for the first time since my wedding 4 years ago – and that’s pretty special to me. Not only was my sister getting married, but I got to see my mom, dad and brother all in the same weekend. AND a few of my aunts, uncles and a cousin whom I rarely see!!

I had looked forward to this weekend for so long, and after some delays at the airport in Austin we arrived in NY late, missing dinner with the bride and groom. 😦

We kicked off the festivities with a little girl time at the nail salon and then the rehearsal at the Brooklyn Historical Society.

Lisa gathered and instructed the troops.

Kelly Wedding Rehearsal

The men were very attentive to the bride.

Kelly Wedding Rehearsal

The girls needed little direction.

Kelly Wedding Rehearsal

All lined up!

Kelly Wedding Rehearsal

Practicing the official hand-off

Kelly Wedding Rehearsal

Kelly Wedding Rehearsal

Kelly Wedding Rehearsal

Kelly Wedding Rehearsal

The bride is all business

Kelly Wedding Rehearsal

Done! Easy! We walked through everything twice – that’s all it took. Off to dinner at Bacchus Bistro!

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

Gifts

Here’s a close-up of the rehearsal bouquet Lisa’s friend Carey made out of the ribbons from her shower gifts. Carey made the ribbons INTO flowers! AND she made the base in papier-mâché out of the leftover wrapping paper! I’ve never seen such a perfectly arranged ribbon bouquet!

Rehearsal Bouquet

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

My dad and brother

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

Me and the bride

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

My dad and his fiancée, Julie

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

The bride and her mother (and my mother!)

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

Me and the hubs

Kelly Wedding Rehearsal

Branden and his family visiting

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

Everyone is mesmerized by the bride

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

The happy couple, in anticipation…

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

The bride and her bridesmaid, Jessica

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

The best man and his fiancée Leslie

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

The bride with her bridesmaid, Katie

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

My dad giving a very heartfelt and touching speech

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

After dinner, the bride and groom presented their wedding party with presents. The girls got lovely robes and the boys got jerseys for their favorite teams.

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

Rehearsal Dinner at Bacchus

After dinner we went back to the hotel and visited with more family. We were hoping the rain would hold out for the big day…

See all of my pictures from the rehearsal on Flickr.

*Blog post title is a lyric from the song “Going To The Chapel” by the Crystals

One Response to going to the chapel and we’re gonna get married

  1. Lisa Kelly says:

    Great pics! I LOVE the ones of me and you and me and Branden. I’m going to need those for my album 🙂

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

