kittens’ first bath

I prepared for the worst. An all out drag down fight. Blood, sweat and claws.

I’ve given baths to cats before and it was never an enjoyable experience. Obviously. Seriously – what’s so bad about a nice warm bath? If cats only knew how much better they’d feel afterward. I always just held the cat tight, poured or ran water over it’s body, poured shampoo on with the other hand, rubbed a little, then rinsed. The cats would usually wriggle out of my hands and/or moan like they were dying.

This time, I took a different tactic. I wanted to bathe the kittens pretty soon after getting them so that maybe they could get used to the experience as kittens. I filled one side of the sink with warm water and shampoo and the other side with clean warm water – just like washing the dishes. Drew had a towel ready to dry them and I put on my rubber gloves. I picked up Maeby first and set her in the soapy water. She pawed the sides of the sink and wriggled a little, but not much. I rubbed a little then set her in the clean water to rinse. Then plopped her in Drew’s hands and he wrapped her in a towel.

Bathing Kittens

Bathing Kittens

All done! Easy as pie! No scratches!

Bathing Kittens

Bathing Kittens

Bathing Kittens

Then I grabbed Margot and she went in even easier. She actually just sat there for most of the bath – it was adorable.

Bathing Kittens

Bathing Kittens

Bathing Kittens

Bathing Kittens

Afterwards, they sat and licked themselves for a while. See? Not so bad huh girls? Now they are clean smelling, soft and fluffy!

I hope to eventually get them to this point:

Leave a Reply

