Finnegan’s Nursery

My favorite room to decorate is a baby’s nursery. When I was planning Harper’s nursery, I knew I wanted gender neutral (partly because I thought I’d reuse most of it for baby #2 and partly because I didn’t want an explosion of pink and purple.) Well, I didn’t end up reusing as much of it as I thought I would. A lot of it was just too worn out. But we reused all of the big stuff. So Finn gets big sister’s crib, dresser, glider, side table and wall shelf. And a few other small things like the lamp, crib skirt and mobile.

Last time, I only had a color scheme in mind, but this time I had more of a general “feel” of the room in my head. I like the style of Wes Anderson movies and I wanted foxes, so I was envisioning Fantastic Mr. Fox. I also like geometric patterns and the aztec/tribal prints you see a lot now.

So it’s Aztec meets Wes Anderson meets Woodland.

Finnegan's Nursery

As with Harper’s nursery, I relied a lot on Etsy. I found this crib rail cover on Etsy and used it as the inspiration for the colors – navy, gold, mint green, orange, teal.

The triangle wall decals are from Etsy too. My husband and I painstakingly applied each triangle and it took a total seven hours (or over the course of four Harper-naps.) I actually meant to hang them further apart, but I miscalculated and once we started, we had to commit. I still can’t believe I got him to go along with that crazy idea, but it looks pretty cool as a focal wall.

Finnegan's Nursery

Finnegan's Nursery

Finnegan's Nursery

Finnegan's Nursery

His room has a cathedral ceiling with a large window. I had my mom make this bunting to hang across the window just like she did for Harper, but on a larger scale. I picked out the fabrics on spoonflower.com and had them shipped to her with the measurements and voila!

Finnegan's Nursery

I found these Wes Anderson movie poster prints on Etsy and have two hanging on either side of the window. The shop didn’t have Fantastic Mr. Fox, but I grabbed 4 other movies that we love.

Finnegan's Nursery

Finnegan's Nursery

The wall shelf above his dresser has a painted canvas done by big sister (I put on masking tape in the shape of an F and let her paint all over it, then peeled off the tape), a birth announcement print gifted by Aunt Lisa, and a wood section decorated by me. The framed print is from a local Austin craft fair.

Finnegan's Nursery

This moon print is also from the local craft fair:

Finnegan's Nursery

As is this wood sign:

Finnegan's Nursery

I love “Where the Wild Things Are” but couldn’t find a print on Etsy that I liked that actually had the correct quote (a lot of them say “I’ll eat you up, I love you so” but that’s not how it’s written in the book.) So I whipped this up in Photoshop myself.

Finnegan's Nursery

This “Our Darling Boy” print is from Etsy:

Finnegan's Nursery

And this fox pillow is from Etsy:

Finnegan's Nursery

Here’s the rundown of where you can find everything:

Crib: Babyletto Hudson from Amazon
Dresser: IKEA
Glider: Little Castle Monaco Glider from Wayfair
Footrest pouf: Target (no longer in stock)
Wall shelf: IKEA
Side table: IKEA
Rug: Rugs USA
Wire shelf: Grid Tower from CB2

Decor:
Triangle wall decals: Vinyl Lettering Etsy shop
Crib rail cover: Caden Lane Etsy shop
Crib sheet: By George Baby Boutique Etsy shop
Gray chevron crib skirt: babylovin Etsy shop
Triangle minky blanket: 3LollipopGirls Etsy shop
Fox pillow cover: LoveJoyCreate Etsy shop
Changing pad cover: iviebaby Etsy shop
Crib mobile: AzureAlchemy Etsy shop
Fox garland: Unique Extras Etsy shop
Arrow garland: The Bees Knees Shoppe on Etsy
Wes Anderson prints: ClaudioVarosio Etsy shop
Our Darling Boy print: digital download from iviebaby Etsy shop and printed on iprintfromhome.com
Growth chart: milkmoonkids.com
Navy fabric bin: Land of Nod

Not pictured:
Extra crib sheets: 3LollipopGirls Etsy shop
Extra changing pad cover: iviebaby Etsy shop
Matching boppy cover: Hannah Made Modern Goods Etsy shop

2 Responses to Finnegan’s Nursery

  1. What an exceptionally beautiful room! I especially love how much of it is from Etsy. Gorgeous!

  2. Gorgeous room lovely!! Your styling is on point 😊
    http://www.polishedpurposefulpretty.com

Leave a Reply

